The Sewing Place

Helpl with shoulder pads please

sewingj

Helpl with shoulder pads please
« on: November 22, 2018, 16:19:59 PM »
I have no experience with shoulder pads but am about to make this jacket

https://kwiksew.mccall.com/k4225

The notions specify one pair of 1/2inch (1.3cm) shoulder pads

I`m not really sure what I`m looking for and would appreciate any advice.  I`m reliant on internet suppliers I`m afraid

Acorn

Re: Helpl with shoulder pads please
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2018, 17:10:43 PM »
I bought the shoulder pads for my pink and black coat from Tailor Mouse.  They were very efficient, and the shoulder pads were very good.  They don't give the depth of them on the website, but I used medium ones, and they look good - enough to give a bit of shape, but not to shout out 'shoulder pads' like they did in the 1980s.

I will use exactly the same ones when I do my next coat.  In fact I'd better get them ordered.
I might look as though I'm talking to you, but inside my head I'm sewing.

Tamnymore

« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2018, 17:48:46 PM »
Yes that's a nice jacket/coat @sewingj. You can certainly buy shoulder pads as @Acorn suggests, especially if you want a bit more formal definition as it were, in the shoulders. It is relatively easy to make shoulder pads though and I see that there are several tutorials on t'interweb so it might be an idea to take a look to see if home made ones would suit.
'One should either be a work of art, or wear a work of art.' Oscar Wilde

Renegade Sewist

« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2018, 18:31:52 PM »
You're looking for something shaped somewhat like this one. This is a rounded version, in that the edge is soft. There are also ones with sharp cut edges there. This one is 3/8" and is sold by Sarah Veblen. She features this thickness for jackets.