The Sewing Place

Sewing Nylon Webbing - Which Machine?

Maundster

Sewing Nylon Webbing - Which Machine?
« on: January 23, 2019, 08:07:22 AM »
Hello all, I am new to sewing and struggling to find the right machine.

I will be making my own dog collars and leads out of nylon webbing

I also want to embroider onto the dog collars, I will want the lettering to be fairly large, around 4cm.

Will I need a separate embroidering machine? Or is there a good sewing/embroider machine out there that would suit my needs?

Morgan

Re: Sewing Nylon Webbing - Which Machine?
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2019, 16:22:21 PM »
It's all down to how thick the webbing will be and the toughness of the material.
You didn't mention your level of sewing knowledge, so I hope my reply is at the right pitch.

Sewing -
The most inexpensive way to start is with an old style all metal mechanical sewing machine that does both straight stitch and zigzag.  It needs to have the needle punching power.  Pick one up 2nd hand and have it serviced and set up for the job - including the height that you can lift the foot for clearance.  Depending on where you are and what you find in the charity shops or in the attics of friends' grandparents etc., you could pick up a decent, robust machine for (free as a gift or) £20 - £60 and then expect to pay £35 - £60 for a full service and set up for collar making.   It's worth investing in a decent tank of a machine that will keep going forever and ever.

Perhaps learn about making the collars first because that will be less costly and you will still have to buy a stock of webbing, fabrics and hardware. 
Heads up - you will not be able to make them as cheaply as the mass produced factory items.  You may even find you can buy a ready made cheaper than you can buy the webbing.  Your time and labour has a cost - be realistic.
Bespoke items are usually aimed at a different market group than the discount and other outlets where the mass produced stuff is sold.