The Sewing Place

Hi! From Portsmouth

Cheesenpickles

Hi! From Portsmouth
« on: February 19, 2019, 18:59:52 PM »
Heya,

I’m a very novice sewer. I used to see with my mum as a kid and had my own kids Chad Valley machine.

It fell by the wayside and then after my mum died I inherited her machine. I’ve had a few attempts and really want to make a good go of it.

I’ve just finished my first dress, a Tilly pattern and it was a  learning curve but I got through. I’m really looking forward to just finding out more and practicing more. Maybe one day I’ll even wear something out of the house haha!

Efemera

Re: Hi! From Portsmouth
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2019, 19:04:37 PM »
Hello there...

snoozi soozi

« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2019, 19:09:08 PM »
Welcome. I inherited my mum-in-law's machine about four years ago, just in time as the v basic modern Singer I'd bought from Argos had started to creak! At first I was terrified to use it, it had a push pad with all manner of options but now I wouldn't want to be parted from it  :loveit:
Let it sew, let it sew, let it sew

Greybird

« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2019, 19:09:45 PM »
Hello and welcome!

Pearl

« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2019, 19:15:34 PM »
Hi, @Cheesenpickles .  Welcome.   :drink:  Would love to see a pic of your dress.

Cheesenpickles

« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2019, 20:45:25 PM »
Not the best lighting and I hadn’t hemmed or pressed it yet, but it looks like a dress so I’m made up.

I made LOADS of mistakes as well but definitely learned from them and hopefully won’t make them next time. I think I’m going to try and sign up for some classes to get a bit more direction in.

Sewingsue

« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2019, 22:40:28 PM »
Welcome Cheesenpickles.
Bernina Aurora 440QE, Brother BC-2500, Singer 99K (1938), Juki MO-654DE overlocker, Silver Viscount 620D overlocker.

BrendaP

« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2019, 22:48:18 PM »