The Sewing Place

Riding Habit

Sonatine

Re: Riding Habit
« Reply #75 on: November 20, 2019, 20:59:24 PM »
Thanks for all of the kind words, I'm really happy with how it turned out!

@Lachica I started riding side saddle about 11 months ago and loved it so much that I stopped riding astride almost immediately. It does feel different but mostly it feels much more secure. It's also the only time I get to look and feel elegant haha!
With a side saddle that fits well and a balanced rider the weight should be fairly even on the horse's back, with a slight increase on the left side where the rider's right leg sits.

Lachica

« Reply #76 on: November 20, 2019, 23:06:02 PM »
@Sonatine that's interesting. I'm guessing you can't use any leg pressure to control the horse. I believe side saddle was very common in previous centuries so it can't be all that difficult for animal or human. (I don't mean that in a disparaging way: I never learnt to ride but one of my daughters was very keen for a while) perhaps it evolved to suit petite ladies on large horses. Off to Google that theory!
Mary
2020 stash: not gonna count, not gonna feel guilty.

Lilian

« Reply #77 on: November 20, 2019, 23:44:28 PM »
Congratulations @Sonatine a worthy winner  :toast: The habit looks wonderful  :)
Willing but not always able :)

SkoutSews

« Reply #78 on: November 21, 2019, 09:39:39 AM »
All your hard work paid off, Sonatine. The riding habit is a triumph - literally!

It's interesting that you feel more secure riding side-saddle as it looks more precarious than riding astride. It also looks more elegant, certainly in your outfit.

sewingj

« Reply #79 on: November 21, 2019, 12:01:58 PM »
@Lachica   I think it was more that it was considered unseemly for ladies to be astride anything!

Sonatine

« Reply #80 on: November 21, 2019, 13:11:57 PM »
I could talk (well write) about the history of side saddle for hours but I'll try to keep this brief haha!