The Sewing Place

Feeling silly about pins

Tamnymore

Re: Feeling silly about pins
« Reply #15 on: April 18, 2019, 20:52:44 PM »
That's an interesting word. I know clootie (or cloot) as a Scots word for cloth and a clootie dumpling is a pudding boiled in a cloth so you are also correct @Nevis5 . But I didn't know clootie was the  :devil:

And while we're thinking about clooties or even cloots let me remind you not to cast a cloot till may is oot although plenty of cloots seem to be cast in this mini heatwave.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2019, 20:55:08 PM by Tamnymore »
'One should either be a work of art, or wear a work of art.' Oscar Wilde

Surest1tch

« Reply #16 on: April 18, 2019, 20:53:24 PM »
I've been sewing for more years than I can remember, I qualified as a tailor and I'm still learning. I don't think anyone can claim to know everything about sewing and be honest. Keep learning and don't be embarrassed to ask, one of us will likely to have the answer you need

Greybird

« Reply #17 on: April 18, 2019, 22:28:21 PM »
I hadn't thought about it in connection with this, but for many things I am ambidextrous. I can't write with my left hand, but I can paint (windows, doors etc) with both hands and do quite a few other things. I can remove pins with either hand.

Lizzy777

« Reply #18 on: April 18, 2019, 22:43:29 PM »

I have always pinned my fabrics the same way and have only just realised partly thanks to @BrendaP on another thread, that I have been doing it wrong  :|
I always put the pins horizontally along the join / seam / fold and now know they should be at 90 degrees  :| How stupid I feel  :| No wonder I can never sew up to ( or even across ) them
I feel so utterly incompetent ( what else am I doing wrong???  :o ) and will never be a proper sewist  :| :(