The Sewing Place

Changing size within a pattern

Ryomaden

Changing size within a pattern
« on: May 02, 2019, 09:37:40 AM »
I have my first pattern (Mccalls M7464) but I want to make it in size 6 at the bust and 10 elsewhere, is there a technique for this?

Ryomaden

Re: Changing size within a pattern
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2019, 09:43:43 AM »

b15erk

« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2019, 10:05:23 AM »
First of all, I would trace your pattern if you are planning to make changes.  This keeps the original in good condition if you need to go back and make further changes.

I'm not a fitting expert - I'm sure one will come along presently, but I would simply draw a line across the sizes.

I always find that making a toile is useful, you can make all kinds of changes to it, mark it, and even use it as your pattern when you have your fit as you want it.

Hope this helps.

Jessie
Jessie, who is very happy to be here!!  :),  but who has far too many sewing machines to be healthy, and a fabric stash which is becoming embarrassing.

Greybird

« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2019, 10:15:20 AM »
I would also just grade across the size lines on the pattern, although this may not be straightforward - depends on the pattern. Remember also, that the sizes marked on the pattern are not the same as those on ready to wear garments. You need to check the measurements given on the pattern envelope.

Ryomaden

« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2019, 12:10:58 PM »
Firstly I would assess why you need to do so, in order to work out what the best approach is. My guess is a small bust and larger waist/hips?

Yes this is exactly what I meant, bust size is 6 while waist and hips come in at 10, according to the body measurement section on the envelope.
I just read a tutorial for SBA and it looks quite straightforward, thank you for the suggestion.
I am a bit confused with with where to make the marks for the grading from 8 to 10 though... :|