The Sewing Place

Noobee from the UK

NatalieSews

Noobee from the UK
« on: May 14, 2019, 10:29:06 AM »
Morning all, it's 10:30 here in the UK and I'm currently at work procrastinating because I don't have anything to do until after lunch  :angel:

So the reason I am here is because, Quilting.

I used to dabble in dressmaking when I was younger, (around 12-14) and really enjoyed it, but unfortunately I never finished a project. Teenager brain. No money to buy fabric.

I have tried knitting and then I stumbled on to quilting when my friend who had never sewn before, (who thinks I'm a messiah because I can fit an invisible zip and have a electric sewing machine... pah, I'm a novice) enlisted my help with appliqueing some star wars faces onto the front of a galaxy inspired duvet cover that she bought off eBay.

I was hooked, even though it wasn't really a quilt albeit a duvet with faces on, I really enjoyed myself and got onto YouTube to look at some easy simple quilting projects.
Three weeks later I have finished my first ever lap quilt, rail fence assortment, with thin line quilting in the middle panels, which for me is a massive achievement.

I have never completed anything, I still have a denim skirt that I need to hem and add pockets onto (and then give away because I have gotten too fat for it!) I even pattern drafted this one using my measurements so I might even try it on and see how it feels.

So I sorta need the support of other sewist's/crafters/quilters, I am going to start on my next quilt TONIGHT. So excited to finish work, I might even break the speed limit on the motorway to get there!

As I'm new I will upload pictures of my quilt to here when I get home this afternoon.

Much love, and I hope to make some friends with similar interests  :loveit: :* :sew: :thread:

Nevis5

Re: Noobee from the UK
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2019, 10:35:17 AM »