The Sewing Place

Machine Guidance

lizardeatspaper

Machine Guidance
« on: May 24, 2019, 10:56:28 AM »
Morning peeps,

I'm a newbie here (so "Hi" if you've not seen my post in the newbie forum) and was advised to post in here as I'm mostly interested in making clothes.

I've been advised to perhaps start with things like pyjamas and T-shirts but eventually I'd like to have a go at anything & everything (focusing on men's clothing for myself).

Bearing in mind the above, I'm after some advice on what would make a good starting machine - either specific models or things to look out for in general - and any other tools/equipment you consider invaluable.

Any other advice also greatly welcome!

wrenkins

Re: Machine Guidance
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2019, 10:59:08 AM »
 0_0 here we go.....
  [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]  
Harbouring resentment is like swallowing poison and waiting for the other person to die!

b15erk

« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2019, 11:06:24 AM »
@wrenkins you are very naughty!

@lizardeatspaper there are so many sewing machines out there to choose from, that the best I can advise is to go into a bricks and mortar sewing machine shop (I know, they are thin on the ground), and try a few machines out.

Lots of us use vintage machines, and love their simplicity and reliability, but others like machines that come with bells and whistles.

Sorry, it really is down to personal choice and budget.

Jessie
Jessie, who is very happy to be here!!  :),  but who has far too many sewing machines to be healthy, and a fabric stash which is becoming embarrassing.

wrenkins

« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2019, 11:18:13 AM »
 :angel:  < ME!

My machine story started at primary school on treadles. My mum had a plug in fancy Singer 15k at home but I loved the treadle.
A huge lump of my first paycheck went on a Singer and I still use it.  Very basic, bangs through everything and gets the job done.