The Sewing Place

Knip Mode faux wrap dress

dolcevita

Knip Mode faux wrap dress
« on: May 17, 2019, 10:56:10 AM »
My time and attention has been diverted from sewing for the last 18 months (not for any bad reasons) but I'm close to the end of that commitment now and some sewing has recommenced, which is just as well as I need lots of new clothes.

I've been subscribing to a Dutch sewing magazine, Knip Mode, for a couple of years.  It's not bad and does have some nice jersey dress patterns in it.  If anyone is interested in it, they often run incredibly cheap deals on their subscriptions, and they also run up to large sizes - the size range of their patterns generally goes from 34 to 52 and their sizing is larger than Burda.  Anyhow, I recently made a knit dress from an older issue as I had a special occasion Sunday lunch to go out to and just had to have a new dress to wear.  The jersey was bought a couple of years ago from Fabricland and has finally been liberated from the stash. The dress itself was an easy sew, mostly made on the overlocker and a twin needle rather than my coverstitch, which I'm deeply out of love with right now.

Here's the dress.

b15erk

Re: Knip Mode faux wrap dress
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2019, 10:58:19 AM »
Good to have you back DV, and look forward to seeing some of your projects.

Beautiful dress.

Jessie
Jessie, who is very happy to be here!!  :),  but who has far too many sewing machines to be healthy, and a fabric stash which is becoming embarrassing.

dolcevita

« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2019, 11:07:18 AM »
Thanks, Jessie.  I have really, really missed my sewing time so it's great to be tracing patterns, cutting cloth and sitting behind a machine again.  Even better to have new clothes to wear!  0_0

Elnnina

« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2019, 12:59:22 PM »
I've missed seeing posts from you too, so now we know why.  Your dress is lovely and so pleased that you can now get back in to sewing - so enjoy this and enjoy your new wardrobe.