The Sewing Place

Which sewing machine for a complete beginner?

BrendaP

Re: Which sewing machine for a complete beginner?
« Reply #15 on: October 10, 2019, 21:03:43 PM »
You get what you pay for.  A £100 new machine will be cheap, plasticy, and likely die quite young.  Several hundred pounds for a new machine and you will get something sturdier and more reliable, and that will have a trade-in value if you outgrow it.

Several people have mentioned pre-used machines; they are the ones which people have traded-in for a higher spec model and if they come from a reputable dealer will have been serviced and be in good condition.  A proper bricks and mortar shop is best if you can manage it, just to try out machines and chat to staff who know what they are talking about - as already suggested Franklins in Colchester are probably your nearest.  If you must buy online it's Sewing Machines DIrect or Sewing Machine World. 

Avoid like the plague the one who offers 25 year guarantees and who has featured on TV's Rogue Traders.
Brenda.  My machines are: Corona, a 1953 Singer 201K-3, Caroline, a 1940 Singer 201K-3, Thirza, 1949 Singer 221K, Azilia, 1957 Singer 201K-MK2 and Vera, a Husqvarna 350 SewEasy about 20 years old. Also Bernina 1150 overlocker and Elna 444 Coverstitcher.
http://paternoster.orpheusweb.co.

Greybird

« Reply #16 on: October 10, 2019, 22:58:11 PM »
Re online retailers, I have had very good service from Hobkirk Sewing Machines.

Vezelay

« Reply #17 on: October 11, 2019, 07:19:58 AM »