The Sewing Place

Machine embroidery troubleshooting please

Morrie

Machine embroidery troubleshooting please
« on: August 06, 2019, 17:42:38 PM »
Hi, I'm feeling a bit overwhelmed with picking the right tension/needles/stabiliser/thread for my project and would like some help to point me in the right direction please, I'm new to embroidery, and I've started a satin stitch project.

I've got it looking a lot better, having read all I can about the different variables, but I'm still not happy with the output. Here's what it looks like currently -

[ You are not allowed to view attachments ]  

This is what I'm using - heavy tearaway stabiliser that was attached with fabric spray adhesive, sulky rayon gutermann embroidery top thread, gutermann embroidery bobbin thread, a sharp gold embroidery 70/14 (off the top of my head) needle, and sateen coutil fabric. My machine has auto-tension, but I have tried changing the top tension (from 3 to 1.5) with no changes. It doesn't have a satin stitch so it is a tight zigzag. My buttonhole stitch weirdly runs backwards so I can't see the pattern markings, so I'm not using that.

I'm hoping to stop seeing the bobbin thread showing at the top, for the edge to be smoother, and for there to be no weird little pilling bobbles that appear next to the embroidery. Also, my current needle makes a plinking noise inconsistently, although it's new. But so far it's the best result I've been getting, so I'm loathe to go back to my previous needles. Is there anything anyone could suggest me trying please? I've tried a few different needles but don't have my list with me. I can give you a list if that's helpful. Thank you :)

Celia

Re: Machine embroidery troubleshooting please
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2019, 18:46:25 PM »
Ok first question what machine are you using? Is it an embroidery machine or are you doing this freehand?

Morrie

« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2019, 19:30:43 PM »