The Sewing Place

How many machines do you have?

Acorn

Re: How many machines do you have?
« Reply #45 on: September 05, 2019, 08:22:54 AM »
Blimey Roger! Do you and your family live in a tent in the garden?
I like the certainty that it would be the family living in a tent and not the machines!!   :)
I might look as though I'm talking to you, but inside my head I'm sewing.

LeilaMay

« Reply #46 on: September 05, 2019, 12:55:46 PM »
Singer 201K handcrank
Singer 201K electric
Singer 99K electric in a table
Singer 99K electric knee lever
Singer 221K electric black X 2
Singer 221K featherweight white
Singer 222K electric
Grain chain stitch machine - handcrank
Elna "grasshopper" electric knee lever
Bernina 730 Record
Singer 66K lotus pattern handcrank
Singer 28K handcrank - flood rescue
Half an antique Guhl & Harbeck named Lyra  :)

13 1/2 - not too bad

Sara-S

« Reply #47 on: September 05, 2019, 13:16:37 PM »
I was right. With just 3 I am a beginner. (Though I can’t see the need for others, based on the things I am doing.) The smallest one is likely to be the first to wear out, as it is so light it probably has a lot of plastic parts.  When that goes I am not likely to replace it.
You can't scare me. I taught high school for 32 years.

Greybird

« Reply #48 on: September 05, 2019, 14:15:22 PM »
I wouldn't call you a beginner. I have been sewing for over 50 years - all but 10 of them with only one machine. If the machine you have does what you want it to do, then you don't need any more.

coffeeandcake

« Reply #49 on: September 05, 2019, 14:49:17 PM »

Pfaff QE 4.2
Janome 6234XL overlocker/serger
Janome 2000CPX coverstitch
Singer 201k (1953)

I'm currently looking out for a 221k.  That's a bit of a minefield though.  I know some people don't understand the need for more than one machine unless they serve different functions, which the first three on my list do, but many of us get great pleasure from our machines.  It also helps that DH is a great enabler 0_0

Lachica