The Sewing Place

I need advice on larger projects.

Sara-S

I need advice on larger projects.
« on: October 04, 2019, 15:58:50 PM »
I am relatively new to sewing and quilting.  Up until recently, I have only worked on smaller items, such as placemats and mug rugs.

My last project, the tale runner, was the first thing I hav made that is (in any dimension) bigger than I am.  I struggled to keep seams and topstitching straight. I will be starting the larger part of the quillow, which will be 4 x 6 feet.  I could use some suggestions for handling larger items.  Thanks.
You can't scare me. I taught high school for 32 years.

Acorn

Re: I need advice on larger projects.
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2019, 16:13:32 PM »
I am intending to try Quilt-As-You-Go for my next full sized quilt.  I quilted my quillow (72"x84") in one piece, and it was not fun.

Iminei made a tutorial for joining QAYG blocks using strips, which is here

My next quilt will be for my baby goddaughter though, and will be a nicely manageable 4ft(ish) square.
I might look as though I'm talking to you, but inside my head I'm sewing.

fajita

« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2019, 17:03:20 PM »
When working on a larger item, keep it level on a surface around your sewing machine. If it overhangs the edge of the sewing table it will drag the quilt from the needle and be a tricky beast to control.

Bjay

« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2019, 18:36:52 PM »
You need to ensure the weight is balanced - on my enormous quilt (don't ask) I used an ironing board to take some of the surplus weight - set  at same height as the table
Trying to find my way on the Dark side

Deafoldbat

« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2019, 19:16:40 PM »