The Sewing Place

Crochet - should I?

sewingj

Crochet - should I?
« on: October 11, 2019, 20:01:22 PM »
I need something to do while I watch tele in the evenings that doesn't require much concentration. I'm wondering about a granny square blanket but I don't know how to crochet!
Is this a good idea? Is it easy? Does anyone know of a good tutorial?

Any other thoughts gratefully received.

MistyRose

Re: Crochet - should I?
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2019, 20:14:47 PM »
I crochet off and on in the winter and I've just started to make some snowflakes  from a video, unfortunately it's a US video and they call most stitches by a different name to UK, although this one do show you how to do the stitches.   Don't know of a good tutorial off hand but I don't think it's hard to learn, Ive been doing it for so long I've forgotten how.   

Kenora

« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2019, 20:22:56 PM »
I've been crocheting for more than 60 years - it's really easy once you get the hang of it. The hardest part is finding a way of holding the yarn and hook which is comfortable for you. Don't stress about doing it the "right" way - just do what feels best. As long as you can achieve an acceptable end result, that's fine.

I don't have a link to any beginners' tutorials but I've been told that Bella Coco on YouTube is very good. She teaches in UK terms too, which is helpful if you're just starting.

Good luck, and keep at it.
Minding my P's & Q's in Portreath

MitchOfTheNorth

« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2019, 20:27:57 PM »
I learned from a book - Crocheting in Plain English by Maggie Righetti.
Stashbusting 2022
Goal:  50 meters
Total:  32.5 meters

Lowena

« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2019, 22:28:20 PM »
My d.i.l.tried to teach me but I couldn't get the hang of it
Triumph of hope over experience :D

SkoutSews

« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2019, 22:31:33 PM »