The Sewing Place

Baby Play Mat

PollyWally

Baby Play Mat
« on: January 11, 2020, 04:53:08 AM »
I am planning to make a simple baby play mat for a new baby in the family but I need some advice about what sort of wadding to use. I am not very familiar with the different types of wadding available but it would probably need to be something that stands up to frequent washing. For anyone in Australia I will most likely be shopping at Spotlight but can go to a specialty quilting shop if Spotlight has nothing suitable. All suggestions appreciated as it is the first time I have attempted to make something like this !

Lisalou1965

Re: Baby Play Mat
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2020, 07:27:35 AM »
I am no pro, but I would be looking at cotton batting. It breathes well, and endures washing well. Good luck with your project... will look forward to seeing pictures  :D
If you see me with a seam ripper, now is not a good time

Iminei

« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2020, 07:39:13 AM »
Play mat? Play mat/changing mat?? or play mat/quilt cover???

Poly wading ... foam ... cotton wadding.

The Imperfect Perfectionist sews again

PollyWally

« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2020, 07:58:40 AM »
Thank you @Iminei and @Lisalou1965 . I was thinking of something like this Round Quilted Play Mat but I wasn't sure whether cotton batting would cope with frequent washing. Unlike a quilt which may be washed less often.

Iminei

« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2020, 08:07:37 AM »
I would think a thick Polyester wadding (which I loathe for the feel) with a decent amount of quilting would probably be best for that.

Lisalou1965

« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2020, 08:16:49 AM »
As Iminei says, poly is probably better for a play mat - as I said, no pro here. I was thinking more along the lines of quilt to sleep under when I posted.
If you see me with a seam ripper, now is not a good time

Sheilago

« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2020, 11:00:29 AM »