The Sewing Place

Granny squares first attempt

sewingj

Granny squares first attempt
« on: January 08, 2020, 11:49:01 AM »
This is my first attempt at crochet - several of you pointed me in the directiion of BellaCoco videos which were very helpful.
I quickly realised that using a wool that is 2-coloured was not a good idea because it makes it hard to differentiate the stitches - but on the other hand is does conceal a lot of mistakes!
I`m not sure what this will end up being - I need to buy some more wool if I want it to be much bigger

[ You are not allowed to view attachments ]  

Ohsewsimple

Re: Granny squares first attempt
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2020, 11:53:19 AM »
Oh wow.  Really good for a first attempt.  And I like the colours.  When I think of granny squares I usually think of old fashioned pale colours.  But this is different.  So much easier than knitting isn’t it?   

sewingj

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2020, 12:20:33 PM »
Thankyou.  The only problem with learning from videos is that I still don`t know how to read a pattern.  I`ve seen one or two things I like the look of but when I read the instructions they are meaningless to me!

Ellabella

« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2020, 12:45:39 PM »
You might be better with charts @sewingj. Lots of patterns come in chart form and once you understand which symbol is for which stitch I find them easier to follow than written patterns.

Nice blanket BTW.

SkoutSews

« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2020, 13:32:12 PM »
Very nice, your squares are evenly sized, excellent first steps in crochet. I love the colours.

MistyRose

« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2020, 14:15:43 PM »

MistyRose

« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2020, 14:18:13 PM »

sewingj

sewingj

« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2020, 15:00:21 PM »
Is this any use :   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJvO9WwGAUU

Thanks - I've had a quick look and that seems useful. Need to spend a bit of time on it though!

HenriettaMaria

« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2020, 15:25:53 PM »