The Sewing Place

What are your top tips and must haves?

Penabby

What are your top tips and must haves?
« on: April 30, 2020, 20:11:33 PM »
Hi all. I'm a novice with a little experience of using a machine. I have my new machine coming this weekend. During this crisis, I have not been able to work, and being a bit of a workaholic I need something to do. I have always been a bit crafty when time allows and would love to really get into sewing. My inspiration was mask making with lots of old bit of material I have, but that has just got me a bit obsessed with everything I want to do! I have spent ages watching videos, reading posts on here and getting tons of ideas. In the long run, I think a sewing course would be a good idea for me and will do that when we get back to normal. I would love for you all to give me a list of your top must-haves as I am so tempted to just buy everything! Also your top tips for me as a novice sewer.

What are your must-haves?
What are your top tips for a beginner?
The mind is everything, what you think you become - Buddha.

BrendaP

Re: What are your top tips and must haves?
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2020, 21:43:48 PM »
Must haves for sewing, other than machines.

Sharp scissors - 8-10 inches for cutting out and small embroidery scissors for snipping threads.
 :fabric: :fabric: :fabric: :fabric: and  :thread: :thread: :thread:

along with enthusiasm and a willingness to learn.  Time is good too.
Brenda.  My machines are: Corona, a 1953 Singer 201K-3, Caroline, a 1940 Singer 201K-3, Thirza, 1949 Singer 221K, Azilia, 1957 Singer 201K-MK2 and Vera, a Husqvarna 350 SewEasy about 20 years old. Also Bernina 1150 overlocker and Elna 444 Coverstitcher.
http://paternoster.orpheusweb.co.

Efemera

« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2020, 21:45:12 PM »