The Sewing Place

New Newbie Here...

Martin

New Newbie Here...
« on: May 03, 2020, 11:28:36 AM »
Hello All.

I've just signed up to this forum and this is my first post....

I'm liking the vibe here already, ... having read the Membership Agreement, I can see it's been written with common sense and good humour, ... obviously there's another fan of Bill & Ted in here somewhere!

I've recently started using my vintage Bernina a bit more seriously (now I have lots of time, all of a sudden!), and am enjoying every minute of it. I'm interested in sewing generally, eg, for inspiration, but also to learn the technical aspects of both sewing techniques and sewing machine repair & maintenance. I find the idea that sewing is a woman's activity quite laughable. Speaking as an engineer, I think of sewing as simply engineering with fabrics. I love precision machinery and any technique of creativity. Sewing gives me both of those things plus, I'm sure, contact with others who share those passions.

Thanks for having me.

Martin

Kenora

Re: New Newbie Here...
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2020, 11:36:31 AM »
Hi @Martin - and welcome! Looking forward to seeing what you make in your new found spare time. :)
Minding my P's & Q's in Portreath

Greybird

« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2020, 11:51:44 AM »
Hello Martin - and welcome!

Surest1tch

« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2020, 11:54:30 AM »
Hi Martin and welcome, I love the way you explained your attitude to sewing and you are quite right it is in a way a kind of engineering ❤️

Penabby

« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2020, 12:29:18 PM »
Hi Martin, nice to meet you!   :)
The mind is everything, what you think you become - Buddha.

UttaRetch

« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2020, 12:31:52 PM »
Welcome @Martin.  Grab a  :drink: and go for a wonder.

Efemera

« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2020, 12:37:21 PM »
Hello there...

Helen M

« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2020, 12:40:48 PM »
Hello Martin and welcome!