The Sewing Place

New Newbie Here...

Helen M

Re: New Newbie Here...
« Reply #15 on: May 03, 2020, 16:29:44 PM »
Same here, but we girls called it cookery.

We had neither domestic science or cookery, only needlework which was knitting in the first term then sewing and embroidery for the other 2 terms!
Stash Busting 2024 - Goal: 25 metres
So far:  1.5 metres  ------ Donated : 0 metres
Items decluttered: 55

Deafoldbat

« Reply #16 on: May 03, 2020, 19:40:14 PM »
@Iminei Don't think it was me, but I have previously observed that the best use for gepmetry I have found is patchwork.

@Martin In 'my day' it was Domestic Science too, but before then it was called Housecraft. Only the 'dim' ones did DS - if you were 'clever' and did Latin and Maths, it was assumed you were going to have servants to cook and sew on buttons ><. So much for that idea...

Lilian

« Reply #17 on: May 03, 2020, 20:47:36 PM »
Hi Martin, welcome  :) It was "Domestic Science" for me at school too. We also had sewing which was making a full uniform, + pleated games skirt, knitted jumper, chefs hat and apron, and an embroidered bag to keep it all in!  :faints:  Hope you have fun here  :vintage:
Willing but not always able :)

Martin

« Reply #18 on: May 04, 2020, 03:11:20 AM »
...then reasoned that if I can use a sewing machine then why not another kind of power tool. For the last umpty-ump years I've been drilling holes, sawing wood etc

Good thinking Flobear!
Martin McCann

Martin

« Reply #19 on: May 04, 2020, 03:16:28 AM »
... quilting being a cross between Maths and art ...??
I'm not planning to take up quilting, ... but I'm interested in this statement... Can anyone tell me why quilting is a cross between maths & art...?
Martin McCann

Iminei

« Reply #20 on: May 04, 2020, 03:28:28 AM »
Nope because the person who said/wrote it wont own up ... Was it @BrendaP  then ???

The Imperfect Perfectionist sews again

Martin

« Reply #21 on: May 04, 2020, 03:33:02 AM »