The Sewing Place

Beautiful winter scene - for a quilted project?

Sewbee

Beautiful winter scene - for a quilted project?
« on: November 23, 2017, 18:13:49 PM »
http://www.fabricfocus.co.uk/product/woodland-friends-gathering/

This is gorgeous! I wasn't looking for quilt fabric but came across it. It's at the shop I am visiting tomorrow if I can still leave the house without coughing my head off!  I am going to get Patterns and some fabric to make done tops but after seeing this I am sure I will look at quilt fabrics, too.

What could I quilt with this fabric, for example - keeping in mind I'm a beginner at the 5 inch square stage! Would I add another fabric to it? How much would I buy?

I think I know how to sew nine squares together to form a large square and perhaps even to slice and turn some of those squares and sew them together again but that's the e tend of what I think I can do at this point. But anyway, if I see quilt fabric I like, what is a good amount to buy?

I think I'd like a small wall hanging. I don't need a bed-size quilt, at least not now. I am more ready for smaller projects.

This is so cute, too - and Felix would love it! ;)

http://www.fabricfocus.co.uk/product/crafty-cats-panel/

BrendaP

Re: Beautiful winter scene - for a quilted project?
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2017, 18:55:52 PM »
Facrics like that are not meant for cutting up - you would loose the impact.

Instead, I whould aim to buy a piece big enough to have a full repeat of the pattern and then make a pieced border to surround it using plain or plainish fabrics in a variety of browns, tans, greys and other colours to match those in the print would work well.

The pieced border doean't have to be very eleaborate; a couple of rows of squares would be enough, or maybe 'piano key' rectangles instead.  A narrow border (black?) between the panel and the pieced border would set it off nicely.