The Sewing Place

Arrivals Lounge

Quinkish

Arrivals Lounge
« on: March 01, 2017, 16:11:50 PM »
Here I come, dazed and confused after a bumpy flight from TSF Land. Glad to be here.

Currently working on a purple jersey dress with Alabama Chanin style embroidery. Also, cut out and awaiting stitching, a 1920s "1 hour dress" which is an experiment and destined to be lounging wear (future iterations will be glorious and intended for public consumption).

Rachel

rowe1311

Re: Arrivals Lounge
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2017, 20:14:00 PM »
I am just starting to add some Alabama Chanin embroidery to a jersey dress too, so would love to see how you are getting on with it.  It is my first attempt at hand embroidery since school days so I hope I have the perseverance for it. 

Ploshkin

« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2017, 21:35:26 PM »
Please be sure to post pics of your Alabama Chanin stuff - it's been on my to do list for some time
Life's too short for ironing.

rowe1311

« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2017, 19:19:05 PM »
A quick question for you Rachel (Quinkish).  With your Alabama Chanin, are you hand stitching, or machine sewing?  In the book they seem to strongly recommend their own thread for strength.  What thread are you using? 

I am going to attempt the corset but, I am worried as it will be a tight fit, machine thread might not be strong enough, so I am going to hand feel the seam afterwards for added strength, but don't know what thread to buy here in the UK.

Angela

Quinkish

« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2017, 22:40:13 PM »
Hi Angela

My dress is quite a dark purple jersey and I bought a moss green T-shirt in a charity shop which I cut up and am doing reverse applique. I have seen this style of embroidery done on Alabama Chanin clothes but I am not following a pattern from her book.