The Sewing Place

Monster Batik quilt finally finished!

RJR_38

Monster Batik quilt finally finished!
« on: July 22, 2020, 19:11:09 PM »
I have been working on my batik quilt on and off for about 18 months and it is finally finished which is good as I got a bit sick of it. The uses only Batik fabrics or WOW for the backgrounds and sashing etc. There are 100 blocks 6' finished - mainly from the splendid sampler 2 book but some from splendid sampler 1.

Things I have learnt-

1) I HATE quilting anything this big (the photo shows it spread out on our super king bed - its destination is the double bed).

2) I will never again piece the back with vertical strips. I had some gorgeous grey batik (that ai used for the binding) but not enough to do the whole back so I did width of fabric down the middle with WOW either side. In itself it looks lovely but you can see that I havent lined up all the layers perfectly square and/or the quilting has shifted it as they run at an angle.

3) I dont really have the patience for big projects.... they end up annoying me haha.

I've included a couple of pics of some of the blocks as well

[ You are not allowed to view attachments ]  

Efemera

Re: Monster Batik quilt finally finished!
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2020, 19:28:02 PM »
That’s quite some quilt... well done for seeing it through to the finish!

Acorn

« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2020, 19:49:48 PM »
That's lovely - I really like the way the colour graduates.  And now you have a large double quilt you don't need to make another one that size!   ;)

Well done!   :thumbsup:
I might look as though I'm talking to you, but inside my head I'm sewing.

Syrinx

« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2020, 21:14:43 PM »
Looks lovely!

I think it's always so satisfying finishing off those giant long term projects. It looks wonderful. That colour gradient is fabulous

fajita

« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2020, 21:22:45 PM »
Lovely job.