The Sewing Place

Quilt as you go

Sara-S

Quilt as you go
« on: October 19, 2022, 21:33:27 PM »
This is my first attempt. It’s just a small sampler that I was given at the quilt guild meeting. Someone else had started it, which is good. The written instructions weren’t great, but from what was already sewn, I could see what to do next.

The front looks OK, but the back is a mess. That’s partly because I had trouble with the thread tension; every setting I tried seemed to be either too tight or too loose. Eventually, I found it, but there was already some sloppy stitching down. Also, I made the mistake of following the directions which said to use white thread. The back is a red plaid and I’d have normally used red thread.
  [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]  
You can't scare me. I taught high school for 32 years.

Ploshkin

Re: Quilt as you go
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2022, 22:04:45 PM »
@Sara-S is each strip sewn on to the wadding / backing then folded back along the stitching?  I made my first ever quilted thing like that - a log cabin wall hanging.  It was a really good way to do it.
Life's too short for ironing.

Sara-S

« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2022, 22:08:14 PM »
@Ploshkin yes, that is exactly how I did it.

Sara-S

« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2022, 20:36:36 PM »
I have another piece of the backing, with batting, that’s a good size for a lap quilt. I want to do the front (also in Quilt-as-you go mode) with rail fence blocks. Toward that end, I made a couple of test blocks with some scrap. The second try came out pretty good
  [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]  

Sara-S

« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2022, 12:35:43 PM »
I am starting on a larger QAYG project- a lap quilt I hope to make as a gift for my husband. (The backing is plaid and his ancestry is Scottish). But I am running into one problem.  As I put it under the machine, the foot snags on the exposed batting.  I would welcome any suggestions.

Iminei