The Sewing Place

Recommended books on pattern drafting?

Tall_andy

Recommended books on pattern drafting?
« on: July 12, 2023, 07:57:02 AM »
Hi all, I have been sewing on and off for around 10 years but recently tried making something for my wife for the first time, who is plus size. Needless to say there aren't many suitable commercial patterns, and I'm currently in the process of trying to adapt a pattern that I bought recently. It's not going well, as there are so many conflicting articles on the Internet (for example making the arm holes larger).

Given this new (and slightly forced upon) interest in altering patterns and possibly even drafting from scratch, I'm looking for some book recommendations. I'm a bit of a nerd and interested in the "how" and "why", and not scared by the more technical aspects (I'm a computer programmer by day), so any suggestions welcome!

Someone has already suggested "Pattern Making for Fashion Design" by Helen Joseph Armstrong.

I keep hearing "draping" mentioned from time to time too. Is this a different area of pattern drafting, and something worth learning about? If so is it likely to be covered by the above book or is there another that would better cover this area?

Thanks in advance!

WildAtlanticWay

Re: Recommended books on pattern drafting?
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2023, 08:21:48 AM »
Lots of guidance out there, but I’m no expert so hoping another TSP’er can advise on the merits of my recommendations below…

I’m currently reading “The Palmer Pletsch complete guide to fitting”. I also have a couple of McCalls patterns that are meant to be used with the Palmer Pletsch tissue fitting method. What I’ve read so far seems to make sense. 😇