The Sewing Place

Is a Mini Sewing Machine suitable for a beginner?

N777

Is a Mini Sewing Machine suitable for a beginner?
« on: August 06, 2023, 11:26:30 AM »
Hi guys! So I'm a beginner at sewing, and I've only really hemmed clothes and just randomly sewed pieces of cloth together so far? I'll be leaving home for uni soon and I don't have a machine in my dorm.

I want to learn to sew clothes and such and was wondering if buying a mini sewing machine would be worth it. I obviously can't buy a regular one because I'm a broke college student 😅

Kad

Re: Is a Mini Sewing Machine suitable for a beginner?
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2023, 11:44:08 AM »
Depends what you mean by 'mini' sewing machine. The very cheap ones, costing £15/20 new that look cute in pink or pale blue plastic are a complete waste of your limited resources. Far better to keep an eye out for a 2nd hand one that has been looked after and use the time to save a few more pounds.
'Jill' of many aspects of sewing, "Mistress" of few.

Greybird

« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2023, 11:52:21 AM »
I agree. The mini machines aren't up to dealing with a variety of thicknesses of fabric and you'd probably be really frustrated with them. Look for a good second hand machine (preferably refurbished from a dealer where you can try it before buying). Older machines were often better built. It doesn't need to have loads of stitches - most of us don't use many anyway. Go for one with a zig-zag stitch if possible. Ask around aunts and neighbours to see if they might have a machine they no longer use. Let us know how you get on!

Lachica

« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2023, 13:09:31 PM »