The Sewing Place

Fabric to widen Cotton/polyester/elastane mix lightweight jeans

Emerion

Hi,
I’m a very amateur sewer, so not sure on where to look for the fabric that I need for this project. I have a pair of excellent quality skinny “jeans” that I want  to widen to straight-legs. They aren’t really jeans, just made like them, and are a lightweight Cotton/polyester/elastane mix. Can you advise me on what search terms to use when shopping for this kind of fabric online?

Also, does it have to be exactly that mix of fibres? I imagine it’s the weight, and having a little stretch in it that matters most?

I’m nowhere near a fabric warehouse, so can’t really shop in person, which would be the ideal.   
Machine: Singer 99K 1954
Ability: Plenty of room for improvement

Ohsewsimple

Re: Fabric to widen Cotton/polyester/elastane mix lightweight jeans
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2023, 13:10:56 PM »
I’m assuming this is woven fabric and not knit (as in tee shirt type fabric).
You will want a fabric with elastane, lycra, spandex ( all the same stuff).
I would suggest getting some samples first to check it’s a similar weight to the jeans.  Are they denim or just a cotton/poly mix?

Emerion

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2023, 13:29:39 PM »
No denim in them at all. A cotton poly mix. Woven.

Ohsewsimple

« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2023, 17:06:51 PM »
Ok so you’ll need to look for a fabric and get some samples first to check if it’s compatible. 
Cotton/poly mix comes in different weights and thicknesses.  It maybe that it’s a stretch drill or twill and there will be a surface pattern of diagonal lines on the fabric.  It may not be.  It’s very difficult to know without seeing the fabric.  So you might want to look for a medium weight fabric to start with.

Emerion

« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2023, 20:44:05 PM »
Hello again,
Thanks for that. It isn’t twill then. I will look for some medium weight poly/cotton then.

BrendaP

« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2023, 23:18:57 PM »