The Sewing Place

Boom

Hideout Hen

Boom
« on: September 30, 2023, 11:08:44 AM »
Sorry, just wanted to head this with something other than " Hi I'm new here."
 Hi, I'm new here. :)
I'm Mandy. I've been living in rural Central France since 2004. I've been sewing since I was a girl, making clothes for my Pippa dolls. ( Anyone remember them?)
My Mum was a machinist and helped me with my first wardrobe additions. I always had problems with off the shelf clothes as I was thin and  short waisted with a sway back.
 Since then I've made everything from furnishings to beaded belly dance costumes.( Never wedding dresses though.)
 Most of my present sewing has been in making leather hence the name "hide"out Hen. I have an embarrassing amount now in the under stairs closet. I rarely use commercial patterns, preferring to draft my own. I also like painting fabric. I recently acquired a laser engraver so hope to have some fun with that. If I don't blow it up first!
I'm looking forward to conversing with like minded sewists.
In my dreams I'm still sewing....and also in my nightmares.

Greybird

Re: Boom
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2023, 11:13:07 AM »
Hello and welcome!

Lachica

« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2023, 11:25:12 AM »
Hi! Sounds like you have some exciting projects to show & tell! We like pics (I think you need a few posts before you're allowed to add pics)
Mary
2020 stash: not gonna count, not gonna feel guilty.

realale

« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2023, 13:06:41 PM »
Hello and welcome from me too.
I rarely sew with leather so will be interested to see what you do. We do like pics on this forum  :pics: when you have posted enough to include them!!
So many beers, so little time.

Ouryve

« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2023, 13:27:31 PM »
Hi, @Hideout Hen you will be in good company here on several counts. Look forward to seeing what you make  :pics: