The Sewing Place

Buying upholstery fabric

JohnSnug

Buying upholstery fabric
« on: November 30, 2023, 16:27:15 PM »
I'm still pretty new to sewing, when buying fabric for cushions and/or curtains is there anything I need to look out for. Are some fabric made better than others, and how can I tell if it's a 'bad' or poor quality fabric (if that's a thing!). What do I need to look out for and potentially avoid.

Thanks!

BrendaP

Re: Buying upholstery fabric
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2023, 16:52:11 PM »
It depends a lot on what sort of cushions and what sort of curtains, but generally you get what you pay for.

Upholstery fabrics which are going to be sat on need good resistance to abrasion and to pilling but cushions that are purely decorative don't need to be so robust. 
Measured in Martindale units
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Martindale_(unit)
https://www.jover.es/en/news/201-abrasion-resistance-textiles

Fabrics for window curtains need to have good UV light resistance but that's less important than for internal curtains that are not exposed to sunlight.  Usually a good quality lining is sufficient.

Any fabric used for upholstery in public places - and recommended for private use - must be fire retardant.
My daughter makes curtains professionally, and does some upholstery, and she won't compromise on that one.

If you are using a printed fabric ensure that the print is on-grain widthways.  You have to cut with the design and if it's off curtains won't hang properly.
Brenda.  My machines are: Corona, a 1953 Singer 201K-3, Caroline, a 1940 Singer 201K-3, Thirza, 1949 Singer 221K, Azilia, 1957 Singer 201K-MK2 and Vera, a Husqvarna 350 SewEasy about 20 years old. Also Bernina 1150 overlocker and Elna 444 Coverstitcher.
http://paternoster.orpheusweb.co.

JohnSnug

« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2023, 19:14:47 PM »
Thank @BrendaP really useful.