The Sewing Place

bias wrinkles with photo, finally

RachelB

bias wrinkles with photo, finally
« on: March 09, 2024, 21:23:25 PM »
I finally have a photo of the fitting problem I have been having. When I posted about this before, a couple of responders asked for a photo.  The bias wrinkles are on the right back bodice and can be seen in the picture.   I bought a book called The Sew/Fit Manual and it says that bias wrinkles  indicate that something is too wide and too long. But, I am not sure what is too wide and too long, since I don't really have these wrinkles on the left hand side of the back bodice.  When I was sewing several years ago, I never had this problem, and those clothes still fit.  I can't imagine what has happened.  Does anyone know how to fix this?

Bodgeitandscarper

Re: bias wrinkles with photo, finally
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2024, 09:11:37 AM »
Whilst I have no experience of fitting things that tight, I would suggest that you think about how and which way would you smooth/push/pull the fabric to smooth out those wrinkles - that could be where the problem lies.  In this instance it looks like the right hand armhole and shoulder would need raising a tad, or it could be just the side seam is a bit too long - but don't take my word for it, as I say, I have no experience with things like this  :S

Helen M

« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2024, 11:02:15 AM »
Maybe your right shoulder is lower than your left so maybe lifting that would help. Other wise i think maybe the pattern needs a tuck between the armhole and waistline. Is it the same on the front or back only?

Looking again at photo your left shoulder blade seems more prominent than the right so that could be where the problem lies. Our bodies are not the same on both sides. Are you right or left handed?
« Last Edit: March 10, 2024, 11:04:51 AM by Helen M »
Stash Busting 2024 - Goal: 25 metres
So far:  3.0 metres  ------ Donated : 0 metres
Items decluttered: 75

RachelB