The Sewing Place

Wanted - janome atelier 5 or similar sewing machine

annieg

Wanted - janome atelier 5 or similar sewing machine
« on: July 16, 2018, 18:50:09 PM »
I have the opportunity to buy an ex-demo atelier 5 from a dealer but before I go ahead I wondered if any TSP member has thinks machine or similar they want to sell?
What I am looking for is long arm (8.5 inches) or thereabouts right hand side of needle space, auto thread cutter, qui,ting machine but not necessarily with lots of bells and whistles as I am a beginner quilter.
I'm open to Pfaff, janome, juki. etc etc.
Would love Bernina but am sure I couldn't afford that 0_0
Would probably be able to arrange courier collection if that helps.annieg

Morgan

Re: Wanted - janome atelier 5 or similar sewing machine
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2018, 22:17:17 PM »
A friend has had an Atelier 5 for 3 years and is still delighted with the machine.  She uses it mostly for dressmaking but does the occasional craft and household sewing project.

It comes with a quilting kit that includes an extension table, feet etc.  Just one point to think about is that the machine does not have accufeed (dual transport) built in so you'd use the even feed foot (walking foot) when needed.  Dual transport is not essential, but can be useful for patchwork and quilting techniques.

If you can stretch to it, it may be worth considering the Atelier 7 which does have dual transport, or a similar machine.

Whichever models you are considering (even second hand) then at this higher level of the middle band of computerised sewing machine, please, please test drive first.  Some makes feel more intuitive under the fingers that others and if you're going to invest in a machine like this, it has to feel right under your fingers. 

Iminei

« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2018, 08:57:26 AM »
I upgraded quickly through my 5 years of quilting from
the old secondhand in '91 Toyota that I made my waistcoats with back in the day,
to a Janome 525Sewist,